Skip to main content
Medicine LibreTexts

7: Axial Skeleton

  • Page ID
  • The axial skeleton is the part of the skeleton that consists of the bones of the head and trunk of a vertebrate. It consists of 80 bones and is composed of six parts: the skull bones, the ossicles of the middle ear, the hyoid bone, the rib cage, sternum and the vertebral column.

    • Was this article helpful?